Publisher Theme
Art is not a luxury, but a necessity.

Ballon d’Or 2019 shortlist live updates as Liverpool lead way with six nominees

The 30-man shortlist for the 2019 Ballon d’Or is set to be announced by France Football.

Liverpool superstar Virgil van Dijk is the favourite to land the prize after helping the Reds to last season’s Champions League.

Barcelona‘s Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo of Juventus are also hotly fancied.

The Ballon d’Or winner will be announced on December 2 at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris.

Luka Modric scooped the gong last year following his star turn for Real Madrid in the Champions League and Croatia at the 2018 World Cup.

It ended 10 years of dominance by Messi and Ronaldo.

Read More

Starsport’s Top Football Stories

France Football will also announce the 20 nominees for the Women’s Ballon d’Or, the 10 nominees for the Kopa Trophy, and the 10 nominees for the Yachine Trophy.

The winners in each category will be decided by a vote from one journalist representing each country.

Voting is based on individual and collective performances during the year, player’s class and career.

Former Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger believes Sadio Mane should beat Liverpool team-mate Van Dijk to the gong.”/>
Virgil van Dijk is the favourite to win the award

When asked who should win the award, Wenger told BeIN Sports: “Mane was the outstanding character.

“I would say – because he is a fighter… and efficient. He’s not scared of anybody. At the moment, he deserves huge credit.”

Starsport will bring you an updated list of nominees when France Football reveal who has made the cut.

The publication is expected to announce a name every 15 minutes from 5pm.

Men’s Ballon d’Or 2019 Nominees

– Sadio Mane (Liverpool)

– Sergio Agüero (Manchester City)

– Frenkie de Jong (Barcelona)

– Hugo Lloris (Tottenham)

– Dusan Tadic (Ajax)

Kylian Mbappe (PSG)

– Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)

– Donny van de Beek (Ajax)

– Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal)

– Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)

– Alisson (Liverpool)

– Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus)

– Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)

– Georginio Wijnaldum (Liverpool)

– Virgil van Djik (Liverpool)

– Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)

– Heung-min Son (Tottenham)

– Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)

– Roberto Firmino (Liverpool)

Women’s Ballon d’Or Nominees

– Amandine Henry (Lyon)

– Sarah Bouhaddi (Lyon)

– Lucy Bronze (Lyon)

– Dzsenifer Marozsan (Lyon)

– Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride)

– Viviane Miedema (Arsenal)

– Sam Kerr (Chicago Red Stars

– Ellen White (Man City)

– Nilia Fischer (VfL Wolfsburg)

– Pernille Harder (VfL Wolfsburg)

Source link

You might also like

Thanks !

Thanks for sharing this, you are awesome !

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!